Government Whip (\$10,215), Chief Whip of the official opposition (\$6,810), whips of other recognized parties and deputy whips (\$5,675) and the chairmen of elected commissions (\$3,405). Internal regulations also provide for allowances for specified travelling by a member, for maintaining an office in his constituency and for a second residence in Quebec in cases where the member represents a riding outside the capital area.

Members of the Executive Council of Quebec as at January 15, 1976

Prime Minister, Hon. Robert Bourassa Vice-Prime Minister and Minister of Justice, Hon. Gérard D. Lévesque

Minister of Education, Hon. Jean Bienvenue Minister of Industry and Commerce, Hon. Guy Saint-Pierre

Minister of Finance, Hon. Raymond Garneau Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs, Hon. François Cloutier

Minister of Public Works and Supply, Hon. William Tetley

Minister of Lands and Forests, Hon. Normand Toupin

Minister of Agriculture, Hon. Kevin Drummond Minister of Cultural Affairs, Hon. Jean-Paul L'Allier

Minister of Labour and Manpower, Hon. Gérald Harvey

Minister of Natural Resources, Hon. Jean Cournoyer

Minister of Tourism, Fish and Game, Hon. Claude Simard

Minister of the Civil Service, Minister of State for Intergovernmental Affairs and Minister of State for Finance, Hon. Oswald Parent Minister of Municipal Affairs and of the
Environment, Hon. Victor C. Goldbloom
Minister of Transport, Hon. Raymond Mailloux
Minister of Social Affairs, Hon. Claude Forget
Minister of Communications, Hon. Denis Hardy
Minister of Revenue, Hon. Robert Quenneville
Minister of Consumer Affairs, Co-operatives and
Financial Institutions and Minister of
Immigration, Hon. Lise Bacon
Solicitor General, Hon. Fernand Lalonde
Minister of State for Agriculture, Hon. Georges

Vaillancourt
Minister responsible for the High Commission for
Youth, Recreation and Sport, Hon. Paul Phaneuf
Minister of State for the Executive Council, for the
Quebec Planning and Development Bureau and
for the Eastern Quebec Development Bureau,
Hon. Bernard Lachapelle

Minister of State for Transport and Minister of State for Finance, Hon. Paul Berthiaume Minister of State for Social Affairs, Hon. Julien Giasson.

## 3.3.1.6 Ontario

The government of Ontario consists of a Lieutenant Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. In April 1974 the Honourable Pauline McGibbon took office as Lieutenant Governor. The Legislative Assembly is composed of 125 members elected for a statutory term not to exceed five years. At the general election September 18, 1975, 51 Progressive Conservatives, 38 New Democrats and 36 Liberals were elected to the province's 30th Legislature.

In addition to the regular ministries there are the following provincial agencies: the Niagara Parks Commission, the Ontario Municipal Board, Ontario Hydro, the St. Lawrence Development Commission, the Ontario Northland Transportation Commission, the Liquor Control Board and the Liquor Licence Board.

Under the provisions of the Legislative Assembly Act (RSO 1970, c.240 as amended) each member of the Assembly is paid an annual indemnity of \$15,000 and an expense allowance of \$7,500. In addition, the Speaker receives a special annual indemnity of \$9,000, the Chairman of the Committee of the Whole House \$5,000 and the Leader of the Opposition a salary of \$18,000. Each member of the Cabinet having charge of a ministry receives the ordinary indemnity as a member of the Legislature in addition to his salary as a Minister of the Crown. The salary provided in the Executive Council Act for the Premier is \$25,000 and for a Cabinet Minister having charge of a ministry \$18,000. The Leader of the Opposition receives a representation allowance of \$3,000 per annum. Each Minister without portfolio receives an annual salary of \$7,500.

The Executive Council of Ontario as at October 1975 Premier and President of the Council, Hon.

William G. Davis
Minister of Housing, Hon. John Rhodes
Provincial Secretary for Resources Development,
Hon. Donald R. Irvine

Attorney General, Hon. Roy McMurtry
Minister of Revenue, Hon. Arthur K. Meen
Minister of Agriculture and Food, Hon. William
Newman